Musik Labels Kunst Edition Phantasia Schmuck Links Psychedelic Posters Amazon aStore Deutschland Amazon aStore USA email
Home Musik C C.A. Quintet


0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U,V,W X,Y,Z Various Artists

C.A. Quintet C.O.B. Caedmon Ceyleib People, The Children, The Circulus Christopher Cannonball Adderley Chillum


C.A. Quintet

C.A. Quintet - Trip Thru Hell (1968)

C.A. Quintet - Trip Thru Hell (1968)

C.A. Quintet - Trip Thru Hell
Rock - Psychedelic/Acid Rock
Year 1968 Label Candy Floss
Type CD Catalog # 11021
Year 1995 Label Sundazed

There's not much to compare this album to, even in the weird musical climate of 1968 — there are echoes of Country Joe & The Fish and the Doors, perhaps, in the mysterioso organ and morbid imagery. Not that Ken Erwin was in the same league as Jim Morrison, or even Country Joe, as a songwriter. But (with the exception of the brassy good-time cut "Underground Music"), psychedelia was very rarely this dementedly gloomy. Occasional pealing bells and curdling screams (to say nothing of the Boschlike cover art) add to the foggy underworld menace. Reissued without authorization in Europe in the 1980s, the 1995 domestic CD is a first-class job: the 12 bonus cuts gather some rare non-LP singles, alternate takes, and previously unreleased songs, and the liner notes feature extensive interviews with Ken Erwin and engineer Steve Longman.

Ken Erwin, Lead Vocals, Trompet
Tom Pohling, Guitar
Jim Erwin, Bass
Doug Reynold, Keyboards
Rick Johnson, Drums
Rick Patron, Drum Solo on "Trip Thru Hell (pt.1)

Tracklist :
1. Trip Thru Hell (Part 1) 9:11
2. Colorado Morning 2:31
3. Cold Spider 4:43
4. Underground Music 4:46
5. Spleepy Hollow Lane 2:04
6. Smooth As Silk 2:11
7. Trip Thru Hell (Part 2) 3:42
8. Dr. Of Philosophy 2:12
9. Blow To My Soul 2:02
10. Ain't No Doubt About It 2:33
11. Mickey's Monkey 2:29
12. I Put A Spell On You 2:49
13. I Shot The King 2:25
14. Fortune Teller's Lie 2:12
15. Sadie Lavone 2:53
16. Bury Me In A Marijuana 2:14
17. Colorado Morning (Alt.) 2:15
18. Underground Music (Alt.) 2:11
19. Smooth As Silk (Alt.) 3:20

C.A. Quintet - Trip Thru Hell (1968)