Various Artists – A Visit To The Spaceship Factory (2007)

Various Artists – A Visit To The Spaceship Factory (2007)

20 Gems From The Early Years Of Prog. A Visit to the Spaceship Factory presents 20 ear-watering morsels that will thrill and entertain in equal measure. Wander the dimly lit corners of the Spaceship Factory, an establishment designed to produce vehicles that could take you from the geometric wallpaper of your room to the far side of your electric dreams. It wasn’t in production for very long, but while it was operating, not only did it manufacture million-selling models such as Yes, Black Sabbath and Jethro Tull, but it brought you the brash rock of Treetops, the polished guitar wizardry of Israeli progsters Jericho, the fuzzed-up dirt of Jesse Hector’s proto-punk outfit Helter Skelter, and countless other designs now being re-appraised or still waiting to be recognized. The conveyor belts may be still, the furnaces may be cold, but the ships still fly to the stars. Psychic Circle’s intrepid vinyl hound, Jamie Romer, has scoured the land in his quest to excavate more undiscovered psycho-prog stunners. This new selection bears testament to his endeavors. Other artists include: Mousetrap, Deadwood, Fuzzyduck, Incredible Hog, Mouse, Beggars Opera, Kingdom Come, Little Bighorn, Strange Fox, Onyx, Spontaneous Combustion, UFO, Sheephouse, Pussy, Axe, Sunchariot and Kansashook.

“A batch of lost psych prog tunes from the early 70s — with spiraling guitars, chugging rhythms and otherworldly jams from the UK scene — and great little compilation on Nick Saloman’s Psychic Circle label! The tunes were cut in the years between the psych heyday and the complicated prog sounds of the later 70s — many with the catchy, freewheeling groove of the former and the metallic crunch and lumbering qualities of the latter — all in all, a really great batch of spacey rockers that you have likely never heard before! 20 tracks in all: “Why Not Tonight” by Treetops, “Greenfields” by Mousetrap, “That Don’t Help Me None” by Deadwood, “So Come On” by Jericho, “Tadpole” by Incredible Hog, “Spirit Of Joy” by Kingdom Come, “Sarabande” by Beggars Opera, “Bring It On Home” by Strange Fox, “So You Wanna Know” by Sunchariot, “Nervous Shakin'” by Kansas Hook and more!” (dustygroove)


1. Treetops / Why Not Tonight 3:19
2. Mousetrap / Greenfields 2:47
3. Deadwood / That Don’t Help Me None 4:05
4. Fuzzy Duck / Just Look Around You 3:58
5. Jericho / So Come On 3:57
6. Incredible Hog / Tadpole 3:32
7. Mouse / It’s Happening To Me And You 2:52
8. Helter Skelter / I Need You 2:30
9. Beggars Opera / Sarabande 4:28
10. Kingdom Come / Spirit Of Joy 3:26
11. Little Big Horn / Just A Game 4:19
12. Strange Fox / Bring It On Home 3:20
13. Onyx / Air 4:00
14. Spontaneous Combustion / Spaceship 3:20
15. UFO / Evil 3:36
16. Sheephouse / Ladder 3:22
17. Pussy / Ska Child 3:06
18. Axe / People Come, People Go 3:05
19. Sunchariot / Do You Wanna Know 4:09
20. Kansas Hook / Nervous Shakin’ 3:12

Various Artists – A Visit To The Spaceship Factory (2007)

You may also like...

5 Responses

  1. Evan Jones says:

    been looking for this one actually.

  2. haloda says:

    Very nice set.

  3. Anonymous says:



  4. Anonymous says:

    Great comp. Anyone know if ‘Strange Fox’ made an LP? That ‘Bring It On Home’ is POPTASTIC in the heaviest sense . . . .

  5. Anonymous says:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × four =

error: Content is protected !!