Susan Christie Paint A Lady (1970 )

Susan Christie – Paint A Lady (1970 )

Previously unreleased Psychedelic Folk album from 1970 by Susan Christie, a Philly based sophomore folk singer who had one novelty hit for a major label in the late ’60s. This album, which featured her psychedelic take on Country standards and hand crafted tales of inner-city solitude backed by a Folk-Funk rhythm section, was not considered commercially viable and shelved…until now! Uber-legend John Hill produced the album which features 8 tracks including a 12 minute ‘drugsploitation’ epic called ‘Yesterday – Where’s My Mind’ featuring Susan flipping vocal styles between Janis Joplin and Margo Guryan. Finders Keepers. 2006.

1. Rainy Day
2. Paint a Lady
3. For the Love of a Soldier
4. Ghost Riders in the Sky
5. Yesterday Where’s My Mind
6. Echo in My Mind
7. When Love Comes
8. No One Can Hear You Cry

Susan Christie – Paint A Lady (1970 )

You may also like...

25 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    I did comment earlier on Ruthann Friedman (and that idiot who I see you’ve got rid of – great) but I’ve since looked back and realised that I have taken you for granted over the year. Please accept my apologies. For instance the Aktuala, Agitation Free, Magic Carpet, Big Boy Pete, Limbus, Gothic Horizon, Saturnalia etc all of which are truly excellent. But, so far anyway, the best of the lot I think is McDonald Giles. A classic. I was dimly aware of them but never realised they made such an incredible album.
    Thanks again.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Great to have you back Lady, you and your posts were greatly missed. Do keep on.

  3. JANISFARM says:

    Again lady…no words

  4. Anonymous says:

    great album.
    buy it at

  5. Anonymous says:

    i like it a lot!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Thanx a lot for introducing me to this great album

    Thanx again

  7. senil says:

    wonderfull album!

  8. Anonymous says:

    Susan is Lou’s sister; her hit was I LOVE ONIONS.

  9. popcat says:

    Thanks for this wonderful album.

  10. groovesclash says:

    thks, thks, thks for this blog. love this record.

  11. Anonymous says:

    This lp is sick also being from philly (so was she) I have to support it!!!

  12. Anonymous says:

    This lp is sick also being from philly (so was she) I have to support it!!!

  13. Anonymous says:

    This record is simply beautiful. Thank you for exposing me to it.

  14. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for this wonderful music. A friend of mine also got addicted. Speaking of Philly, do you have any Montana Sextet or anything that Vince Montana did? Thanks again. Greetings from Sarajevo


  15. Grybop says:

    Thank you so much for this album – I haven’t even heard of all these artists, but their music is beautiful.

  16. Ivan says:

    Please, I can put the lyrics of “Yerdaday, Where’s My Mind?”? I am Spanish, I do not understand much English. This album is amazing. Thanks.

  17. ericbkk says:

    An interesting album

  18. Anonymous says:

    Greetings! Have heard so much about this release.

  19. Anonymous says:

    This is quite easily one of my favourite albums of the year so far

  20. jon says:

    ^ copy that ^

  21. Anonymous says:

    this is just so incredible.. “paint a lady” is lightyears ahead of the “music” you hear when you turn up the radio.. (and i am 23 years old!)

  22. Anonymous says:

    excellent stuff

  23. Anonymous says:

    This is quite good!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × 5 =

error: Content is protected !!