Various Artists – Maiden Voyage – A Wide Selection Of Grooves From Norway ’66-’76 (2002)


‘Maiden Voyage’ is an entertaining collection of 14 rare grooves that were played on the Norwegian scene between 1966 and 1976. This historically important and utterly grooving compilation tracks the developments on the funk, fusion, R’n’B and soundtrack scenes that previously had only been available on obscure and out-of-print 7”/12” vinyl singles and 8 track tapes. Respected DJ Lasarus has done a tremendous job in various archives, libraries and in dusty attics, digging up old and forgotten gems that now are given new life on the ‘Maiden Voyage’ sampler. Highlights include Karin Krog’s rendition of the title track, Difference’s acid-tinged space psychedelia, the Bendik Singers’ Afrotid and Arne Nordheim’s take on psycho-jazz on the track Solar Plexus. (

1. Sven Libaek And His Orchestra – Misty Canyon
2. Karin Krog – Maiden Voyage
3. The Playmates – Leaving For Love
4. Egil Monn Iversen / Inger Lise Rypdal – Heaven And Hell
5. Difference – Outside
6. Kjell Karlsen’s Orkester – La, La, La
7. RAIN – Whine And Wail
8. Bendik Singers – Arfotid
9. Frode Thingnæs – Wheels
10. We-Be Karlsen – If You Could
11. Good News – Konklusjon
12. Little Earl Wilson And The Sapphires – I Can’t Believe It
13. Karin Krog/Public Enemies – Watermelon Man
14. Arne Nordheim – Solar Plexus

Maiden Voyage A Wide Selection Of Grooves From Norway ’66 – ’76

You may also like...

10 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    The name ‘Maiden Voyage’ originates from Herbie Hancock’s ’65 Blue Note classic 😀

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thanks a lot 😀

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thank You! Love your blog.

  4. Anonymous says:


  5. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for all of the great music you’ve introduced me to, and best wishes for 2011!

  6. Radek says:

    Great stuff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

8 + eleven =

error: Content is protected !!