Various Artists – The Electric Asylum Vol. 1 – Rare British Acid Freakrock (2009)



Various Artists – The Electric Asylum Vol. 1 – Rare British Acid Freakrock (2009)

A very cool collection of work — and one that moves way past the typical vibe of the usual psyche comp you might expect! A fair bit of the recordings here are from the early 70s UK scene, and show a real evolution since the end of the previous decade — a move towards styles that are a bit leaner than before, with some cool compression and other production tricks in the mix — almost elements that are a precursor for sounds to come in the space rock and glam scenes, but still definitely more psyche-based here. As with other Past & Present sets, there’s a full batch of notes telling the tale of each unique track — and the set list is filled with gems. (

1. Mighty’em – Jekyll & Hyde
2. Asylum – Suzy’s Back
3. Iron Horse – Magic Love
4. Moonsoon – Night Of The Fly
5. Galahad – Rocket Summer
6. J.C. Heavy – Is This Really Me
7. Rainbow Family – Travellin’ Lady
8. Puzzle – Do You Feel The Pain
9. Grumbleweeds – In A Teknikolor Dreem
10. Explosive – Hey Presto, Magic Man
11. J.C. Heavy – Do What You Like
12. Choc – The Devil
13. Danta – Queen Of Sheba
14. Vincent Crane’s Atomic Rooster – O.D.
15. Renegade – Never Let Me Go
16. Satisfaction – Love It Is
17. Audience – Eye To Eye
18. Steel Mill – Get On The Line
19. Kirk St. James – Tears I Cry
20. Legs – So Many Faces

The Electric Asylum: Rare British Acid Freakrock, Vol. 1

You may also like...

7 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’d been curious about this series. Thanks very much!

  2. Thanks to all who contribute to this site. This music lives on-I am off to the music store.

  3. burnsy says:

    Some cool tunes on this comp… Cheers!!

  4. Anonymous says:

    interesting info

  5. Anonymous says:

    Nice collection.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four × 3 =

error: Content is protected !!